The Ten Commandments

Holy Bible - Christianity and Judaism

Creator: Published in the Bible and said to be spoken by God to the people of Israel.
Purpose: A moral foundation and guide for living in Judaism and Christianity.


The Roman Catholic, Lutheran, Jewish (Talmudic), Anglican and Orthodox Christians have slightly different versions of the Ten Commandments. This a combination of these versions.

  1. I am the Lord your God
  2. You shall have no other gods before me / You shall not make for yourself an idol
  3. Do not take the name of the Lord in vain
  4. Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy
  5. Honour your father and mother
  6. You shall not kill / murder
  7. You shall not commit adultery
  8. You shall not steal
  9. You shall not bear witness against your neighbour
  10. You shall not covet your neighbour’s wife / You shall not covet anything that belongs to your neighbour


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *